Three-colour flag PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 24 May 2010 00:33


Three-color flag

Three-colour flag

It was adopted in 1795 by Boer rebels for the first Boer republics: that of Swellendam, and that of Graaff-Reinet, who remained alive only a few months, first to capitulate to the British Empire. The flag is similar to the Batavian Republic flag, sister of the French republic, founded in the Netherlands in 1795.
This tri colour was used in a number of other smaller Boer Republics like Utrecht Republic (1854–1858) and Lydenburg Republic (1856–1860).